Code: CH70972

Poulenc: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (2006 Edition)

  • 2 in stock

ABRSM Clarinet (2018–2021) Grades 7 & 8

LCM Clarinet Grades 7 & 8

Trinity College London Clarinet (2017-2020) Grade 7

An updated edition of Poulenc's 1962 Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, edited by Millan Sachania.

The piece is dedicated to the memory of Arthur Honegger, and was first performed at Carnegie Hall, New York by Benny Goodman and Leonard Bernstein in 1963.

Poulenc completed the Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in 1962, having contemplated the project for at least five years. After his sudden death, the notational ambiguities remained unresolved, and accordingly contaminated the text of the first edition which was published later that year. The revised edition of 1973 attempted to grapple with textual problems. Although they made a number of useful suggestions, the scope of amendments did not extend to improving the notational style of the predecessor.

The objective of Millan Sachania in this revised edition 2006 is to reassess Poulenc's intentions, and remedy errors in the previous edition. The original copy has been re-inspected and is hoped that original indications have been restored.

Read More