Code: ED13351

Haigh: Exploring Jazz Violin (Book & CD) ED13351

  • Out of stock
For all stock enquiries relating to this product please enter your email address below:

An introduction to jazz harmony, technique and improvisation.

Jazz is one of the biggest challenges a violinist can face, with the idea of improvisation likely to strike fear into even the best classical players. This book de-mystifies the whole process, taking you step by step through everything you need to know about playing jazz violin. Chris Haighs style has been described as humorous, entertaining and addictive. This book is anything but dull! Key areas covered include analyzing a chord sequence; bowing; chord symbols; how to construct your own solo and how the various different branches of jazz, including gypsy jazz, bebop, modal and fusion are explored. This book is packed with bite-sized musical portions, all explained and placed in context. As well as a treasure chest full of licks and riffs to use in your improvisations, there are sample tunes with examples of solos. The accompanying CD has 65 tracks to listen to and play along with.



- 1: It Dont Mean a Thing

- 2: Starting to Improvise

- 3: Pentatonic Scales

- 4: The Blues

- 5: Chords Part I

- 6: Chords Part II

- 7: Masters of Swing

- 8: Stphane Grappelli

- 9: Running Wild

- 10: Other Styles, Other Players

- 11: The Big Night

- 12: Final Thoughts

Read More