Code: BH01527

Britten: Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, Op.49 (Oboe Solo)

  • 2 in stock

ABRSM Oboe (2018–2021) Grades 7 & 8

Trinity College London Oboe (2017-2020) Grades 7 & 8

Six short movements for unaccompanied oboe, based on the stories of Ovid.


Pan (who played upon the reed pipe which was Syrinx, his beloved) • Phaeton (who rode upon the chariot of the sun for one day and was hurled into the river Padus by a thunderbolt) • Niobe (who, lamenting the death of her fourteen children, was turned into a mountain) • Bacchus (at whose feasts is heard the noise of gaggling women´s tattling tongues and shouting out of boys) • Narcissus (who fell in love with his own image and became a flower) • Arethusa (who, flying from the love of Alpheus the river got, was turned into a fountain)

Read More